Get Help Now

Whether you’re ready to start your journey with EHN Canada now or just want to learn more, our admissions counsellors can guide you through your options.

EHN Canada


Not quite sure? Chat with a live consultant.

EHN Canada


The Seven Pillars of Mindfulness

woman sitting on wood panel at sunset

What is mindfulness? Being mindful is the practice of being aware of and accepting the present moment. The seven pillars of mindfulness were written by Jon Kabat-Zin. They bring to light the principles that you can use and practice to achieve balance in your own life. Are you curious to know more about how to be mindful? Keep reading to discover what the principles of mindfulness are and about how you can put them into action.

1. Non-judging

The world isn’t black and white. However, many of us see judgments as just that. Something is either good or bad; this automatic judgment takes over and informs your choices in ways that you may not even realize. It is critical that you find awareness. Not action, but awareness. You must be able to recognize the judgments you automatically make so you can begin to work around them.

2. Patience

As the saying goes, patience is a virtue. The same point is made in the principles of mindfulness. You must understand that the events of your life will unfold in time and accept that. There is no need to rush. You should live the moment for what it is and not become too transfixed on the future.

3. Beginner’s Mind

It’s easy to lose yourself if you begin to believe that you have heard, seen and experienced everything. This principle brings forward the idea that life is ever changing. No moment is the same as another. Each one is unique in nature and contains unique possibilities. The beginner’s mind reminds us of this simplicity. The focus here is to not let your experiences become filtered by what you believe you already know.

4. Trust

Having trust in yourself, your beliefs and your intuition is necessary to find peace. Being your own person and letting your ideals guide you are the only way to be sure that you are on the right path. You should be open to learning and be listening, but ultimately know that the choices you make should be decided based on what you think and believe.

5. Non-Striving

Being and trusting yourself is crucial within the principles of mindfulness. Non-striving is the practice of recognizing that who you are is enough and that striving to be “different” or “better” can be distracting. Embrace who you are and find comfort in that. This allows you to concentrate on the things that matter in the present moment.

6. Acceptance

Acceptance can sometimes be misconstrued. This principle is not about being complacent and choosing to be content with things you may not like. Instead, the idea is that you learn to accept the way that things really are. Don’t be clouded by your biases. Instead, you should learn to see the facts within our world and accept them as they are.

7. Letting Go

Letting go…it seems simple enough, doesn’t it? The truth is that relaxing can be difficult when naturally people become fixated on their own thoughts and ideas. It elevates stress and doesn’t allow us to really focus on what matters. To be mindful, you need to be able to free ourselves of worry and focus on the present.

Wrapping Up

The seven pillars of mindfulness were created to help people find peace within them. Following these practices can help you live a more balanced, healthy life.

Which of the principles of mindfulness is the most important to you? Let us know in the comments below.

Call us at one of the numbers below to start a conversation about how we can help you.

Contact Us

Toronto, ON

Vancouver Island, BC

Lawrencetown, NS

Calgary, AB

Peterborough, Ontario

Nouveau Depart
Montreal, Quebec

Outpatient Services (Multiple locations): 1-888-767-3711

  • Want to learn more about our programs?

  • Join Our Newsletter

    Sign up to receive future articles, resources, and more from EHN Canada.